Tommy Stinson is always rolling, with or without The Replacements

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]By Wayne Bledsoe, USA TODAY NETWORK-Tennessee | Published 12:00 p.m. ET July 20, 2017 on   [/vc_column_text][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner][vc_column_text]   In 1978, Tommy Stinson joined his older brothers band. Tommy was only 11 years old, but the group, which later became known as The Replacements, needed a bass player.   Not long afterward, The Replacements became … Read more

Replacements, G’n’R vet Tommy Stinson finds joy in some Cowboy music

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]By By Steve Wildsmith [email protected] | Published Jul 19, 2017 on   [/vc_column_text][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner][vc_column_text]   It says a great deal about the temperament of bass player Tommy Stinson that in the course of his storied career, he’s rocked side by side with two of the most difficult personalities in rock ‘n’ roll. For 10 years, … Read more

The Replacements’ Tommy Stinson is ready to bash and pop in Pittsburgh

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]By Scott Tady | July 15, 2017   PITTSBURGH — Tommy Stinson served as the bassist and emotional spark plug for one of alternative rock’s most admired bands, The Replacements, before starting an 18-year stretch with Guns N’ Roses. [/vc_column_text][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner][vc_column_text] Though it’s his two current bands that bring Stinson back to Pittsburgh, first for an … Read more

Best albums of 2017 (so far): #7 Bash & Pop, “Anything Could Happen”

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]By Ed Masley | July 11, 2017 [/vc_column_text][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner][vc_column_text]“Anything Could Happen” finds Replacements bassist Tommy Stinson reviving not only the name but the rollicking, post-Faces rock-and-roll spirit of the early ‘90s group he formed when the Replacements went their separate ways in 1991. Which is to say if you liked the Replacements, Stinson’s new material should … Read more

Omnivore Recordings Release: Friday Night Is Killing Me (Re-issue)

Expanded reissue of Tommy Stinson (The Replacements, Guns n’ Roses) and company’s debut!

When The Replacements called it quits in 1991, Tommy Stinson missed playing in a band with great chemistry and who all shared the same vision. He recruited then Replacements drummer Steve Foley, Foley’s brother Kevin, and Steve Brantseg to form Bash & Pop.

Recorded with Producer Don Smith (Cracker, Keith Richards, John Hiatt) and with help from Heartbreakers Benmont Tench and Mike Campbell, Americana icon Greg Leisz, Wire Train’s Jeff Trott, and more, the band’s debut album, Friday Night Is Killing Me, arrived in January of 1993. It combined stellar performances and a renewed energy, something many felt the last few Replacements records were missing.

Friday Night Is Killing Me returns on the heels of this year’s new Bash & Pop album and tour. (The band will be heading out with The Psychedelic Furs across the U.S. this Summer/Fall.) In addition to the original 11 track release, an 18 track bonus disc adds rare singles and B-sides, their contribution to the soundtrack of the 1994 film Clerks, and a whopping 15 previously unissued performances. The packaging contains photos and a new essay from Bob Mehr, author of the acclaimed best-seller Trouble Boys: The True Story Of The Replacements.

While many are discovering Bash & Pop for the first time on their current tour, and via their new release, the time is right to reintroduce the record that started it all—Friday Night Is Killing Me.


Friday Night Is Killing Me Expanded Reissue Tracklist

Disc One:

1. Never Aim To Please
2. Hang Ups
3. Loose Ends
4. One More Time
5. Tickled To Tears
6. Nothing
7. Fast & Hard
8. Friday Night (Is Killing Me)
9. He Means It
10. Tiny Pieces
11. First Steps


Disc Two:

1. Never Aim To Please (Home Demo) *
2. First Ups (Home Demo) *
3. Hang Ups (Home Demo) *
4. Tiny Pieces (Home Demo) *
5. Situation
6. Harboring A Fugitive
7. Making Me Sick
8. Nothing (Alternate Version) *
9. One More Time (Alternate Version) *
10. He Means It (Alternate Version) *
11. Loose Ends (Alternate Version) *
12. Hang Ups (Alternate Version) *
13. Tickled To Tears (Alternate Version) *
14. Fast & Hard (Alternate Version) *
15. Friday Night (Is Killing Me) (Alternate Version) *
16. Tiny Pieces (Alternate Version) *
17. Never Aim To Please (Alternate Version) *
18. Speak Now Or Forever Hold Your Peace (Instrumental) *

* Previously Unissued

Bash & Pop reissuing their debut with 18 bonus tracks (listen to one)


Tommy Stinson‘s post-Replacements band Bash & Pop returned this year with Anything Could Happen (on Fat Possum), the loooong-awaited followup to their 1993 debut Friday Night Is Killing Me. On September 8, Friday Night Is Killing Me will receive an expanded reissue via Omnivore Recordings. The reissue will have 18 bonus tracks, photos, and new liner notes by Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements author Bob Mehr. The reissue was produced by the Replacements’ former manager Peter Jesperson and Omnivore’s Cheryl Pawelsk. One of the bonus tracks, a home demo of “Never Aim To Please,” premieres in this post. Here’s what Peter Jesperson tells us about it:

A home recording that is a true harbinger. Both a sign-post and a statement of intent from Tommy Stinson in the wake of the Replacements break-up. It heralds the start of his solo career and reeks of defiance and determination.

Stream the song and check out the album artwork and tracklist below.


Tommy Stinson: Rockin’ at 50, touring with Bash & Pop with Axl a memory

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]By Tom Murray | June 22, 2017   There’s a great quote from legendary Memphis musician and producer Jim Dickinson in regards to Tommy Stinson of alt-rockers Bash & Pop. [/vc_column_text][vc_cta h2=”“I want to say this about Tommy. Some people say that Keith Richards is the embodiment of rock ‘n roll. Well, I know ’em … Read more